And the interviews begin…

I just did my first ever B-school interview last Saturday for Kellogg.  A 2004 alum interviewed me.  We had a lot of things in common – banking experience, same undergrad course in the same university, we even have a common friend, so we had a lot to talk about.  It was actually quite conversational.  We met at a coffeeshop (his suggestion) on a Saturday (also his suggestion). He showed up with the interview handbook (I had to resist sneaking a peek haha).  He mentioned that he had been conducting interviews for the last ten years – basically, ever since he graduated.

The questions were more or less standard:

1. Walk me through your resume, and clarificatory questions for all my job functions and extra-curriculars (this took up a large chunk of the time)

2. Why MBA?

3. Why Kellogg?

2. Proudest achievement?

3. Most challenging experience?

4. Other schools I applied to?

5. What do I do for fun?

6. Any questions for him?

The interview took more than an hour, although after we hit the one hour mark, he said that it was already “off the record”.  I really liked the interview and the interviewer, although he said he doubted the interview had that much weight on the whole application process.  He remembers writing a glowing report for someone who didn’t get in, and he also wrote a “so-so” report for someone who did get in.  He guesses it’s really the essays that pull weight.  In my case, I hope the video essays are a small part of the decision, because mine went disastrously!

And more good news – I got an interview invite from Booth!! *happy dance* I requested for an off-campus interview with an alum, since the nearest interview hub will be Shanghai in early November – not feasible for me because I have to obtain a visa to go to China, and it’s really short notice.  Anyway, the interviews in China are conducted by alumni, so I might as well just have my interview with an alum here in Manila. So on my to-do list is to prepare for that interview!

Crossing my fingers and toes for an interview invite from Wharton! The Friday after next is d-day!!!

3 thoughts on “And the interviews begin…

  1. Hey! I just came across your blog. It’s great to read about your experiences. I have my Kellogg interview in a few days too, so it was good to read this blog. The more I read about Kellogg interviews being friendly and conversational, the less nervous I get which is hopefully a good thing! 😀 Congratulations on your Booth and Kellogg invites. Did you hear from Wharton as well?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Vandana! 🙂 Yes, the Kellogg interview is pretty relaxed – don’t sweat it! Yes, I am also going to be interviewing with Wharton next week. Pretty nervous about the TBD!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

